futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

foot print artwork

My first footprint artwork could have been titled �disintegration� it spanned all of South Nevile Street. It�s gone now: the car tracks, the thaw-- but I'm pretty sure some one saw it first. And even if they only thought �who was drunk?� That will be enough.

I started dancing crazy to draw in the snow after one of my seflf-hatred-purging late night runs. When I�ve been alone all day, with nothing to do but work on my play scripts and read, I get very, deeply sad. I look in the mirror and wish that there was no one looking back at me. I�m a misanthrope who needs to talk to people. Maybe that�s not a good way to live. Pushing all the people away, then crying because they are gone. When I do that there�s nothing left to do but run out in the cold until I'm breathless and I�ve forgotten about it all.

There was a light covering of snow on the wet black pavement. My foot prints were bright black. I could write a pattern on the surface of the parking lot by dancing over it. I danced like a fool cut loose from shame. Anyone who saw me would have said �she�s crazy.� Maybe I was. Maybe I am.

But it didn�t matter. I�d found a new way to reach the people. A new canvass. I could write everything out in the snow.

By swinging one leg around the other I drew a perfect circle. Drag the feet for straight lines. Bounce on tip toe for freckle marks. Making spaces was hard, I had to leap.

the final art work looked something like this.

A record of a genuine mad woman speaking through the ephemeral snow. But it�s not so different than a poet or a painter who create work that will some day rot, crumble, vanish or burn.

I hope that it snows that way again. I�m composing my next dance in my mind even now. Don�t know what I�ll call it yet. But, I do know it may take up several city blocks. Watch out.

03:07:43 - 2001-01-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk