futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snow Day!


This is a drawing I made of myself last week. I don't think it looks like me.

Last night it snowed buckets. Today the board of education told us all that school was out. It�s a Snow day! I didn�t do much today but sleep and read books. I also started planning for next semester. I�m going to teach 10th grade. This is something of a big responsibility�since the 10th graders all take a Regents Exam in June. June 22, at 1:15pm to be exact. The exam is a decent one�it relies more on full problems where students must show their work than multiple choice�But so many of my students have a long way to go. Someone asked what percent of my students I thought could pass a regents right now about 25 percent I said. They said that was "great" the passing rate for SURR schools is MUCH lower.

The thing is I know these kids can do it. I just need to plan enough to make it clear to them that they�ll have the support to make it. I think 25 percent is pathetic.

Last weekend I did some work on putting a few books together with "caf� press" you can see them here. I�m most proud of my calendar though�it�s images of urban decay I found in highbridge park this fall�Some of my best photos. You�ll find it here.

6:27 a.m. - 2004-01-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk