futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

empathy

When I was crossing the bridge on the way home today on the other side in the opposite direction three girls, about my age, were running, squealing, because of the cold. I remember how just three years ago I would have been annoyed by all the noise that they were making. I would have hated them for �acting stupid� and letting their minds go . . . I thought there was so much to think about. I thought that we couldn�t afford to waste time being frivolous or silly.

But I�ve changed. Today I smiled-- I think it was empathy! I think I shared in their joy from a distance. I wished that their lives would be filled with that kind of freedom. Happiness is so rare. When I see happy people: Lovers kissing in the cold, friends laughing I feel so suddenly warm. It�s a bonus of opening up a little more, I guess.

Owen feels some kind of jealously when he sees happy people. He�s says it�s not directed at them or their happiness, but at the universe that�s made his life so lonely. I�m very lonely-- but I just don�t feel that. I think it�s because I know other people are as alone or more alone than I am and most people could use a kiss or a hug or a good laugh. And if you can empathise their joy is yours. Empathy is amazing! I hope the FDA doesn't pass a law against it.

05:06:05 - 2000-11-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk