futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

people need pennies


Nothing was left.

Food is better when you�re hungry. On my way home last night after rehearsal I was trying to think of something to have for dinner. But I knew my cupboard was bare, actually bare. �the cupboard was bare� what fairy tale is that from? I can�t remember-- at any rate. I remember that I had a can or two of soup, but it was the kind that only really tastes good with milk.

The night before I had sorted all my change. I put all the silver coins in an old silver tray that I found in South Boston (West Virginia) and all the pennies in a teacup with a rose painted on the inside also from my great grand mothers house, there were too many pennies so I had put some in the saucer too.

I had taken all of the silver coins (nickels, dimes, no quarters) with me this morning. I�d bought a box of crackers for $0.80 and so there weren't many coins left, I counted $0.75

I wanted to buy milk very badly. How much dose milk cost? I hoped I could that a pint for $0.50, but, no, at the all night store a pint costs $0.85

I paced around to see if there was anything I could buy. The only thing I could afford was 15 pieces of bazooka gum or 45 pretzel sticks (3 for $0.05!) The uni-mart guy asked �what do you want?� �Just this milk� I said.

�take it from the give a penny take a penny� He told me I counted out the pennies in the green �Newport alive with pleasure� give a penny take penny thing. There were exactly ten. I had $0.85 and milk! Oh yes!

I went home and made my soup it was the best soup I�ve ever had in my life. I smothered it with pepper and curled up reading. I was still hungry when I was done eating, but I didn�t want to spoil everything, by eating more. I have another can of soup and half a pint of whole milk left and tonight I�ll have another wonderful supper.

Maybe I�ll take the saucer full of pennies and put them in the give a penny take a penny. People need pennies sometimes.

15:07:33 - 2000-11-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk