futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bread, crit and ugly

Bread. Someone said that the invention of bread was critical in the development of civilisation. Portable, relatively high in calories and able to be stored, bread is a kind of miracle food. No wonder Christianity employs it as a part of communion, no wonder surrealists were obsessed with painting it.

I wonder if it was developed by one person or if it cropped up all over the world in multiple forms? Who thought �let�s grind up these seeds and then mix them with water, and some other stuff and bake it?� I guess people were bored back then. But now I�m fascinated . . I want to learn to make my own breads. From harvest to my mouth--- I wonder how much a mortar would cost?

Ahh! I�ll never do it. I don�t have the time. There are scenes to block and plays to read . . .

Crit went very well. Nothing but positive things said. Jamie suggested that I didn�t embrace the tragedy of the play enough in my direction. Quite possible. It was a little disappointing, on the whole. For me, a successful play would spark more . . . debate. I think I loved the text too much maybe. But it was Beckett so I couldn�t help it.

Someone thinks I�m ugly. Ugly enough to sign my guest book twice! This amuse me to no end. I must be strikingly ugly, especially ugly. Like none before me, ugly like a god god of ugly. Cool!

17:12:21 - 2001-02-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk