futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For Sound and Fury

It feels good to have sense of identity, to be a member of a club. Everyone is out on the streets tonight, green shamrocks painted in glitter on their cheeks more laughter than drinking. Can that really be a bad thing? The trouble is not one of the people I saw was really Irish. Not that it matters so much. They�ve subscribed to the Irish-for-a-day-club. I wonder if some if them even know where Ireland is or the difference between Ireland and Scotland.

I�ve deiced to celebrate St. Patty�s day by catching up with Irish politics. Who�s bombed who and why, though I must admit I�m much more interested in the bombing in China. Apparently the main suspect is a deaf man. I imagine that he did it in hopes that the blast would wake up his ears-- That may be the subject of my next play, once I�m done with A little Window Into Hell (about a painter who goes colourblind.) God, that title cracks me up-- I don�t know if anyone else will get it though, it�s supposed to be melodramatic, entirely too much. I may have to rename it. Hmm.

I could call the play about the deaf man For Sound and Fury. Where is the phrase �sound and Fury� from? better find out first. It sounds familiar. I hope it�s something appropriate or even good, I love stealing phrases, it�s my career.

I had a lovely dinner with M tonight, well the food was bad but the conversation good. We went to this Italian restaurant that severed omelets (go figure.) I guess nationality is just a hat you put on, a club you join for a day or an hour or two. It all seems so superficial.

But, if I could find the right club I�d join it in a heartbeat-- oh wait I think I�m a member of a club already. �American.� Now let�s see if I can make that word mean anything.

05:31:53 - 2001-03-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk