futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my first pot of coffee

Today I fixed my first pot of coffee. Until now I had bought a cup from the coffee house on Craig and Forbes but while at the grocery store yesterday staring at a percolator I did the math. At $1.50 a cup the damn thing would pay for itself in eight days. The only trouble was I had no idea how to work it. Did it need a filter? Where do you put the coffee grounds? I had no idea. I decided to be adventurous. I bought the thing, no filters, I couldn�t find any that looked like they fit anyway -- and I don�t remember my dad using filters in the little stainless steel and glass percolator he used.

I bought a tin of maxwellhouse and placed the gadget and the coffee in the kitchen cupboard resolving to tackle the problem first thing in morning.

8:30: my radio started playing something vigorous and romantic. The commentator explains its the so-and-so youth orchestra then this hideous soprano comes in singing in German. I am the valkyrie on a mission into the unknown. I take the percolator apart. There seems to be only one logical place to put the coffee so I heap in some of the grounds (which smell delicious) I check behind be to see if there is a Colombian guy with a mule they smell so good. No luck. I guess I have to get the other brand for that to happen. I fill the glass part to the line that says �Max 4 cups� snap it back together put it on the burner and wait.

Tiny bubbles form at the bottom and the water turns a pale shade of gold. I peer in and watch dark drops (Coffee! I�m making coffee!) forming at the bottom of the little compartment where I put the grounds. Just as it starts boiling I turn the burner down and watch as the water jumps up through a little spout just under the bubble on the lid. In about eight minutes the coffee is dark and ready to drink. Success! Why didn�t I do this sooner? It�s much more fun then waiting in line then paying a $1.50 for a cup.

I heat it a bit more until the coffee is dark just the way I like it and then I pour a cup. A sip reveals that it is indeed coffee. I�m so proud of my self I could burst. Now I want to learn how to make espresso.

09:39 a.m. - 2001-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk