futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NYC 8000


These guys are incredibly fast. Their times were about 1/3 what mine was I tried to take a photo of the winner, but as you can see, you can�t really make him out since he�s moving so quickly!

I ran what I felt was a good race yesterday. I was 8 minutes late to the start. I had to unbutton my jeans and switch my hats as I was running over the bridle path to the starting line. I looked pretty stupid-- but then I saw a bunch of other runners doing the same thing. But, I got over the line before they closed it and even caught up with the main pack. When me and the other late runners went over the line the announcer said �and we have a few late comers... catching up on the sleep I guess...� I was really embarrassed so I ran really fast to get out of the starting area as fast as possible. (I WAS NOT sleeping in, for some reason there were no downtown B trains and I had to take the god-help-me-this-thing-is-moving-slow bus... grrrr) I really like 8K races. It�s the **perfect** distance. I can try as hard as I want and I don�t have to worry about getting �spent� since it�s not going to be more than 45 minutes of running anyway--

After the race I hung around to watch the international men�s 8K (it�s the �real� race) It was very exciting to listen to the announcer tell us where in the course the runners were. Especially, since I just ran the course myself. These guys are incredibly fast. Their times were about 1/3 what mine was I tried to take a photo of the winner, but as you can see, you can�t really make him out since he�s moving so quickly!

Someone had bought American flags for all the runners. We used these to cheer the NYPD and FDNYon in their race. It�s very comforting to know that some of the firemen are incredibly fast-- but I don�t know how I feel about so many fast policemen!!

That race was kind of sad, and I didn�t hang around for the end since I didn�t want to be uncheerful and such a great event.

020407_92.html - 2002-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk