futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I dreamed about the engines that drive cities


I've been watching what I eat, hard to do on a budget.

In the early hours of the morning I dreamed about the engines that drive cities again. I was on the outskirts of a city riding a coal cart along the edge of a cliff. You could peer right over. In the deep brown, grey, misty, valley there were no signs of life-- but there were signs of movement. Huge gears the size of the courtyard outside my window seemed to be suspended in space. And despite their expansive size, they were delicate, thin. The centres were cut out and spokes like fish bones held each tooth in place. From my height it was like looking at a tiny scrap of lace buried in fog or clouds. The air in the valley kept shifting revealing new bits and hiding others.

I was terrified by the height but not so much for my safety but because I knew that if I fell I would shatter and disturb this immense but spindly cog works.

These thin cogs drove the whole city. They held the coal cart I was on in place and kept it from falling if a single wheel was disturbed from its place man people would die.

So, I was at last horrified. All our lives depended on this fragile vulnerable fibre all of the city was with in a few hairs of death. When I got off the coal cart I searched for the engineer who had devised such a moronic plan. What we needed were heavy brutish gears of steel. Not this pretty crap.

But there was not one man in charge or he was away or to busy to see me. I spent the rest of my dream being chased by bumbling mid -level workers from the plant. Men in white shirts and ties but no jackets. Men who work in dismal offices with water stained white tiles suspended to create a ceiling.

and, as always with dreams, I woke up.



14:07:47 - 2000-11-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk