futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Everything went pale for an instant.


This is the postcard I was looking at when lightening hit me.

I was about to let the grey sky today get me all depressed but as I searched my desk drawer for an envelope for a letter (I have so much stationary but not one plain white envelope . . . how is that?) . . as I searched I came across the book of postcards I bought last year. Photographs of trains and train tracks in black and white, a memory started to surface-- but it was cut off by a white flash that filled the room. Everything went pale for an instant. I was frightened I didn�t know what it was or where it had come from. �Well, good� I thought �My mind�s going at last. I won�t have to keep up this act anymore.� But the space of that thought was long enough for the thunder to follow. Lightening. It was lightening! But like none that I�ve ever seen. When it flashes the whole sky is white. I am watching the cold rain outside the window but for every flash I fail to see the bolt.

Now what was that memory? The one that was interrupted by the flash? I look at the photographs of trains and nothing comes to me.

And I�m overwhelmed by something else now, anyway. The memory of sitting by the front bay window at our house in London. Everyone's gone. I�m trying to program, but my mind keeps wandering. And then there's this summertime thunder storm. Heavy rain, big bright drops. Nothing like the ice storm I�m in now. But the thunder has the same voice.

16:47:59 - 2000-12-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk