futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

in spite of the ice crystals


The stone muses on the carnegie watch over oakland.

When I walked to Nick�s house today to find out what he thought of the play (the play has problems, I can see that now) there was one of the coldest winds I�ve had to face in many days. The ice crystals were perfectly angular and they caught the light from the street lamps and cars. They were like tiny, angry mirrors striving to cover the world. No matter how I turned my face away some still got in my eyes and nose and mouth. They were so cold it hurt my skin. It was a relief to get to Nick�s and step inside at last.

He was working on some music. He had found this sad little tune and was remixing it into what I�d call romantic (in the sense of Sebilus) dance mix.

On my way back from Nick�s with the slaughtered carcass of my play in my bag I got to thinking about the Doug, a boy I met last night. He�s thin dark eyed, medium height, a sharp pointed chin and nose and a sharp witty tongue. He has the kind of eyes that seem to say �I have known pain.� I don�t know if he�s know pain, but his eyes say that. I still don�t know what to make of the entire affair, except that I�m happy about it. Still, I�m not over anxious to call him. It�s strange. Sort of nice a way. All of our communication has been so honest and at ease so far and I�d rather that we not ever say another word to each other than spoil that.

In spite of the ice crystals and my impassible work load and the thunder that comes with the snow storms lately I�m very happy. And maybe I will call. I�ll wait for it to feel right. There is no need to get in a rush.

The world is too much with us late and soon
getting and spending we lay waist our powers
W. Wordsworth


02:53:35 - 2000-12-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk