futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This three days is gathering.

I'm leaving this city. I have a navy blue wool coat with three buttons up the front. If I put on a shirt and a sweater vest it's enough, even for cold like this. I packed my red suitcase this morning and caught the bus to downtown Pittsburgh. I walked to the train station a rode train number 43 from Pittsburgh to Cleveland. I don't remember much of the train I put my knees up against my chest and fell of to sleep wakening dimly only when they called the stops.

When I came out of the train station I realized that there might not be rapids (think above ground subway) running. I'd have to walk to tower city and catch the green or blue line from there and now it was bitter cold and my three-buttoned coat was not enough.

I sighed and started off. No one expect pedestrians in Cleveland. There was no side walk and my suitcase was getting heavy. A car pulled up and two strangers offered me a ride. I was going to say "no." That's what were taught to say-- but I said yes and the two women sisters coming home for Christmas too me to tower city and saved my toes from frostbite.

And I made it home and took a bath in the old tub and after hearing that the water still sounded just the same when it ran from the tap as it did when I was little I was at last here: in the past.

Everything I see triggers overwhelming waves of nostalgia.

I'm in my mother's work room "the quiet room" she calls it typing on a computer that hums like a jet plane trying to take off. Coming here is like going back in times becoming a teen ager again and all the good and the bad that come with it. My old clothes still fit me. So much is just the same here and it set my heart at rest to know it.

I'm going to see Sam on the day after Christmas. I wonder what he looks like now. He has the short hair again he said. I like his hair long, but I understand some times hair is too much to deal with. Sometimes you need to clear it a away.

But other times you want to gather it up and try to keep warm. This three days is gathering.

06:36:55 - 2000-12-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk