futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the crowing hen

�No man likes a thin woman.� My grandmother said pinching my arm and my side. I was only 10 and I forgot to eat then. There was just so much to see and do in the world. I knew dinner would be waiting for me-- so, better finish play or talking first.

�And you could put on dress, or do something with your hair. You don�t even look like a little girl in those old overalls.�

�A whistling woman and a crowing hen are both abominations to the Lord.�

�Get out of that tree! Let the boys climb the tree. If you climb it they�ll never think they have to do anything to help you some day, because they�ll think you can just do it on your own.�

What my grandmother didn�t know is that I can do it on my own. And I don�t want any help . . . I think.

I read kerykes a lot and I think she�s awesome. I just think I�m fighting different a monster than she is. To me being thin especially too thin to get pregnant is the ultimate rejection of the system that kept people like my grandmother, a woman who is probably a genius, (under all her prejudices) in the kitchen their whole life. At least she�s a great cook. Me? I don�t know how.

There is this idea out that the black community sponsors a more healthy body image for women. I think it�s just a different (and in many way more sinister) form of tyranny.

Can you say �fat baby factory� ?

17:59:25 - 2000-12-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk