futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mental energy from the silence

The people come and watch for the story, not the ideas. I'm at Nick's trying to find a good set of treatments for him to send in for his application to Columbia grad. I'm convinced that everything depends on finding a way to give the stories what my teacher, Milan calls "five point structure" so, I keep trying to keep Nick focused on exposition, character details, not the concept.

Nick's house is on edge of Oakland past center ave. it's a cold long hike out here on a night like this. I didn't mind. I was dying to talk. It's a group house. If you want to smoke you have to go in this little cold room and do it there. I guess it works. I could never live with that many people.

There is some tension between me and Nick. If we can't write a drama at least we can live one. I try not to think about the fact that we dated once. We dated for so long that sometimes I fall back into the old way of talking with him. I caught myself calling him 'honey' once.

His current girlfriend just called and he's out of the room with the phone. From his end I gather that she's bothered that I'm here. I sympathize with her. I wouldn't want me here if I was her either.

So, we're getting back to the film script. He's like me, he loves the ideas behind the people and plot too much.

I don't know if he'll get in to Columbia. Who knows what goes through the minds of Columbia admission officers! My mind is hot tonight and I want to tackle the problems of the story more than I want to talk. I haven't spoken to anyone since I left Cleveland and I feel like all of the mental energy from the silence has been building up ever since.

It's funny, now that I've run my mouth a bit I feel like I can work. It isn't enough to stay in all day reading then go look at nature. Old Henry David was full of crap.

There must be some social chemical we get a kick of from lively conversation --oh if only they could synthesize it!

And Doug called. My heart's pattering. He's like this dog that acts like it doesn't like you very much but keeps following you around. I act the same: all cautious. There is not one bad word between us. It makes each new word we say to each other feel like gold. I wonder how long we can keep this up?

09:45:16 - 2000-12-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk