futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I didn�t even know it�s name.

Bright winter light, very weak tea, a quiet chorus on the radio. But I still feel irritable. Mostly because I have no one cent stamps. So the letters won�t get sent. Damn the postage rate increase!

When I was in grade school I was in a dance ensemble. We planned to do a dance to this bit of classical music the teacher had found. I don�t remember the name. I didn�t listen to classical music back then. I liked rock and roll better. Sometimes, I still like rock and roll better. It depends on the day.

The music was on cd and the only cd player was in the teacher's office. So he brought us all in and we sat wherever we could and got ready to hear the music we would dance to. He asked us to close our eyes.

But I didn�t want to-- it was spring and the tree outside of the window in the office had branches laden with blossoms and they were tossing in the soft, almost-warm breeze and catching my eye-- But I managed to let my lids fall and opened my ears.

I don�t need to say that the music was beautiful. That�s too obvious. What surprised me was that all of my classmates were quiet. There was something in the music that had to be universal. I never expect anything to be universal. But that music was. It took no effort to stay still, eyes closed, through the whole price. And when it ended I kept my eyes closed longer, still listening, until someone tapped my shoulder.

That music was just on the radio. I hadn�t listed to it since the final performance of the piece. I had forgotten it. I didn�t even know it�s name. But the radio announcer gave its name. Mozart�s clarinet concerto. Did he have more than one? Uh oh! I�m on a mission now.

I�m counting out pennies so I can buy a copy. How can I buy music? I don�t even have enough for stamps.

The letters can wait, I think.

20:59:47 - 2001-01-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk