futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

just to prove that they are �middle class�

�Do you want to go skiing?�

�No.�

�Why?� My mother wants to see me very badly. So she wanted me to come and ski in this race. I tried to explain to that that I�d sworn off skiing. But it didn�t go down well. I just don�t think I�m ever going to have enough money to do anything like that. And it seems so pointless. Why not hike up the mountain? ski lifts, the equipment . . . all of stand between me and nature.

Still, I�m very good skier. It�d be nice to test out my legs again-- But I�ve told myself I can make do with less �because it would be great fun� just isn�t enough of a reason to do something anymore. The things that I do from here on out have to have meaning.

So no skiing. All around me excess, gross excess and in the places where it counts the most: not enough. Skiing thousands of dollars have disappeared from my mom and dads pockets into that just to prove that they are �middle class� as if no one would believe the two Volvos in the driveway of the pleasant little house I grew up in. I�m not going to buy in to that circus.

Maybe we can just have dinner or something.

13:53:09 - 2001-01-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk