futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lease on life

The pride of downtown Pittsburgh: a string of dingy dollar-stores with cracked or missing floor tiles. The shoppers are heavy, dragging themselves from isle to isle. Everyone is numbly searching for something that doesn't exist. I don�t know what we hope to find: A bright new packet marked �meaning?� Or, in jazzy blue and yellow letters, a bubble pack hanging on a display rack with a tin sign above �purpose.�

The shoppers are all disappointed. all we can find is three ash trays for a dollar or �the strainer� a piece of ill-moulded plastic designed to make straining vegetables more graceful and fulfilling for the lucky owner. Who knows! Perhaps there is meaning in that. I�d almost like to buy �the strainer� and bring it into my life. Use it every day. Make it my highlight, just to see. Then I could be certain that I had tried everything possible before abandoning hope.

In my hand-basket: a baby spoon(long story), three clear white plastic flower pots, the previously mentioned ash trays, a clip board made of clear acrylic: total: 4.28 (with tax)

So I hope buy buying this stuff I can suddenly find my way into a new life. I�m not the Susan of the past. No! I�m the kind of person who grows seeds in clear plastic pots on the ledge by my window. I�m the sort of person who takes copious notes on a clear plastic board without even looking down to see my hand moving across the page. Yes! Here is a new life described by the contents of my basket. It�s so easy! And all for less than 10 dollars!

But, I�m not smiling like a girl with a new lease on life (what a vulgar expression �lease on life� . . .) Perhaps, I�ve been had. No. It can�t be. This must work because if I can�t buy it, where else will I look?

05:02:55 - 2001-01-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk