futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

seeing a play has saved my life

Movie people just aren't like theatre people. (maggiesonic suggested I write about this) I�m going to try to address the difference objectively, but my biases may (will) show through. I�m sorry I�ll be doing my best.

For example, when then wonderboys came to our campus to shoot their movie I stopped to watch the shoot a few time. They were vary serious fastidious and efficient. It was like watching construction workers. They were building a story based on a carefully laid plan.

Now, if you go to a theatrical rehearsal you will find the same seriousness, but there is another kind of energy in the room. Theatre people say things like �do you think they�ll catch that?� �How will this play?� It�s much more like people planning a party than workers building a pristine art object. There is a sense that we are all �getting ready for THEM�

What film does that I love is it allows you to perfect something. It allows you to work with the human form and objets in a very graphic way. Films have more potential for sheer beauty of form than theatre.

But, that said, I can�t say that seeing a film has ever saved my life. Seeing a play has. It�s such a relief to a lonely sole to be admitted into a event to share in the pain and joys and -- to remember that there are other people. Even though it feels like I have to face the night alone I never face it alone.

A film? It�s a just a thing. You�re still isolated on your couch or in the theatre. No one needs to hear you clap. You can leave the room and it won�t matter.

I was so dazed coming out of last week that I completely forgot to write about one of the most important things that happened. JT came to my show. He was my theatre teacher in high school and I sent him a letter in January saying �if some miracle you could make it . . .� and he did. I still have the copy of �Conference of the Birds� he gave me a few years ago. He was the one who first got me turned on to the advent garde theatre movements of this century.

He seemed to like the show very much and this moved me a little. He also said something that made me sad. �I�ve never had a theatre� You see we always used someone else's space. That was the way it worked. I guess I�m looking for my theatre now. I hope that I can find it.

This all said, I�d be up for a good movie tonight. Sometimes I get sick of plays. (!)

16:37:13 - 2001-02-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk