futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the run -- part I

the run part I - outbound, inbound

I left at 11 am. It was grey out. Couldn�t make out the clouds in the sky because the sky was nothing but clouds: a mass of dirty white. It was a little hard to get started. I knew this was the big run. I didn�t want to spend it all at once.

Once I was the on the path the first thing I came to was a the pale blue bridge that files over panther hollow. The path ran right under it. The bridge arched above me mirroring the dome of the sky. I felt suddenly optimistic.

I ran to the railroad tracks and was delighted to discover that on the tresses of the bridge were the words �B&O Railroad� in rusting white paint, just like in monopoly, or in an age when people actually considered trains a form of transportation, not just an outdated novelty.

I ran out of the city only to discover that the trail I was on was not complete. the path broke up at a construction site and there were trucks and bulldozers and no way to go on. I was so sad. I�d only ran 4.5 miles! I had so much planned.

I looked at the map. There had to be a way.

I reordered my plans. Now I�d run on the �3 river trial� to the point then out to Millersvile on the south side: 22 miles counting the 4.5 that'd make 25 . . . good . . .good the run was saved. I turned around, into the city.

Inbound is different than out bound. When I run out of town I have a feeling of freedom, but running into town makes me tense with a delicious kind of nervousness. When I run out of town I feel like I�m running to some fabulous destination. When I run into town . . I�m being chased.

The graffiti along the path was lovely, artful since the path is scheduled the graffiti artists have plenty of time to paint fabulous murals before the cops come. (Some day I�ll post some photos of them to this site.) It really is amazing. It�s worth walking the path just to see all the art work (better than the Carnegie art museums dare I say!)

Everything was beautiful and easy, and I was in sight of the point, when, all at once, it began to snow. And I began to grow cold and wonder if I would make it to Millersville and the north side.

I�ll post more about the run later.

Now I�m going to the art museum to see a movie.

01:06:46 - 2001-02-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk