futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the run -- part II

the run part II - high as a kite

Don�t get me wrong I love snow. I love running in it too. But the snow that day was landing on my face, melting then being pulled of by the icy wind and I still had 15 miles to go. I wasn�t even half way and it looked like I might have to turn back. Damn the snow!

I developed a way of coping. I�d shake the snow off of my mitten then press them to my face this would sop up the water from the melting snow and reduce the wind burn. Shake again to keep my gloves from getting wet. Good, good, this could work. I hummed to myself and thought �dig, dig, dig, dig, dig� No sense in giving up now. �dig, dig, dig, dig, dig�

At last things warmed up. The wind stopped, the sun broke out. It was like a reward for all that digging. I could see all three rivers as I sailed into point park. The fountain that marks the merging of the Allegheny and the Monogahela was shut off for the cold but I circled it just the same, watching the barges slow as icebergs in the distance on the Ohio making their way to the Mississippi and perhaps eventually the Gulf of Mexico.

The Gulf of Mexico didn�t seem so far away all of a sudden! �These legs will take me.� I thought �All I need to do is follow that river. Yes, I was as high as a kite on adrenaline and I hardly felt anything as I flew over the bridge to the north side to inspect the demolished stadium and the the new one. I liked the demolished one better, the north shore looks like something out of a sci-fi movie these days, twisted concrete rises senselessly from the earth, trucks move filled with stone and mortar. There are no pedestrians, only cars and freeways and massive public works in various states of construction and disrepair.

It took me awhile to find the trail again and I ended up running all the way to the first street bridge before I found it . The runners high had passed. My legs were starting to talk to me. (they do that) �Um, Susan� they said �Just how far did you say we were going today?� I decided to lie to them �Oh just to that next bridge there.�

My legs shut up but I was worried. What would happen when they found out I had been lying?

20:24:20 - 2001-02-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk