futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

windows

You do not have to be good.


You do not have to walk on your knees
for a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body love what it loves.

Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across landscapes
over the prairies and deep trees,
the mountains and rivers.

Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting --
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.

- Mary Oliver

There are other places, other people, meanwhile the world goes on. , I forget this all the time. I�d like to trade in all I'm introspection for some extrospection. I did a crazy thing two weeks ago a posted a personal to craig�s list. I�ve gotten about 50 replies, many with pictures (presumably) of the dude behind the message. One had a picture of something quite different attached, though. This:

a view from a window, some one else�s window. Not to far from where I�m staying now, but a view with trees, It�s not like my view:



But that�s why I was so glad to see it. There are other people in the world, I�m reminded, looking out of other windows, seeing other views. And the world goes on.

2:53 p.m. - 1979-07-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk