futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

like gods

My parents appeared in town last night. They want to see if they can help me to get my apartment. I�m so happy to have some help at last. I was starting to give up. So, we went up to the agent in Harlem and made some headway. I may be sending those of you I know an address later this week!

It�s like being a little kid again. When I was little I thought my parents werethese gods, that could make anything happen. I didn�t even know how to worry about my health or happiness. If I was hurt they�d find the doctor, if I needed something it was done. But, from the time I went off to college I started releasing that they couldn�t do everything and anything.

But, they still saved me this time. The landlord seemed to like me a lot better when he saw two real adults show up. I wasn�t this random kid trying to rent a place (I look like I�m about 17, or so I�m told, I�m 21 though ... ) I guess it helps that, unlike me, they have a credit history and all kinds of history, the kind of adult things you get from being in that place ... what�s it called? Ah, yes �the real world.� I remember trying to explain �But I�ve never had a credit card... But I don�t have a driver�s licence� (I�ve never needed one, so I let it expire years ago) �But, I only have a savings account ... But I don�t know anyone in the city to list as a reference ... But I�ve only worked there a month and don�t have a pay stub yet ...� Mmmm thank god for Mom and Dad. I feel so lucky lucky lucky!

They didn�t have a place to stay, and my room at the Y is too small (and my brother is sick of peopling living in his place) so I suggested the Gershwin Hotel.


The lobby at the Gershwin Hotel

It was the place I stayed the very first time I came to New York. I was 17 (and I looked like I was oh I don�t know about 12) and I won a writing contest and they took six of us to New York to work with some famous Playwrights. It was exciting to be back in that place. Like coming full circle. I looked around and thought look now I�m really here!

11:25 p.m. - 2001-07-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk