futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

first day

My new job is just a short walk from the 42nd street train station(no trains there now since Amtrak moved to Penn station!) I�m so happy that I�ll get to see the God Mercury every morning: hovering in stone above the entrance to the terminal. I always dreamed of being the kind of person who saw Grand Central every day. When I was little I�d play �grad central terminal� in the living room, filing all the toys and wooden spools and bits of string I could find in and out of the hall closet.

The first day of work included meeting a bewildering (but friendly seeming) bunch of people. My boss took me all around the office and I was happy to find that a lot of the younger people (Yay people my age!!!!) do theatre off hours too. The girl who sits next to me was doing a monologue for her audition and trying to deiced if she should use the accent or not.

Then I had to fill out about 500 forms, but it wasn�t so bad. Things like �long term disability� and �pension� I guess I don�t think about the future much (or enough) because I found all of that stuff very surprising.

The best part of my job (besides possibly the people) is theatre ticket discounts and free books of plays. I just got a copy of The Red Letter Plays. Can�t wait to dig into that!

I�ve never had a job that wasn�t freelance before, so I�m going to have to adjust my �in quick out quick� freelance mentality. I think I can do that. I�m warming up to this, I think.

11:33 p.m. - 1979-07-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk