futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You gonna stand for that?!


these guys made a lot of money with their antics

Today I went to a poetry reading in the east village. It seemed like a good group of people and I think I�ll back to read some of my own stuff on Friday. I�ve never performed my poetry before-- but the worst thing that can happen is that they boo me off --or I seem boring. To keep from being boring I�m going to make my poem very short. Don�t know what I can do about being booed off-- but I�m brave so I�ll let people know the when and where as soon as I�m done getting my nerve up.

On the way back from the reading, I came across some street gymnasts. They were rather good. But, I enjoyed the way they kept trash-talking the audience into giving them money more than their moves. They sent around their money bag and then one guy comes up and says: �The last dollar we got was from Jersey! Manhattan are you gonna stand for that!?� So, of course, someone form Manhattan gives up a dollar. Then the guy's like: �Hey the last dollar we got was from Manhattan! Bronx, you gonna stand for that!?� So, on it goes, for about 8 min, by that time they were getting money from places all over the world, like Gabon and Prague. I was impressed-- and the guys made a pretty penny with their bidding. I�ll have to remember that move if I ever try any street theatre.

Well, my first day of work is tomorrow, so I want to get a good night�s sleep so I can jog in the morning and be all bright-eyed at this new job.

10:10 p.m. - 1979-07-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk