futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

small town life


The trendy section of the E. Village that I walk through to get to the poetry place. (click to see the larger image)

Very quickly New York transforms into a small town. You have your favourite news stand, favourite sushi bar, favourite spot in the park, favourite seat on the train. People get to know you. The shopkeepers are quick-- as soon as they notice a �new local� they start looking out for you so you come back. Like the guy at the newsstand I go to saves a copy of the economist for me and remembers that I like luckies AND a book of matches, thank you.

I don�t think I felt this at home in Pittsburgh. There, store clerks are semi-disposable. You have no idea who�ll you�ll see behind the counter or at the register.

My life these days consists mostly of the 6 train or 4. I�m an eastern girl. You�d think it�d be no big deal to get over to the W 50s to visit my brother every now and then, but going cross town is a pain-- it means a long walk or a bus-- a cab or the god-awful S-train.

Well, I have work tomorrow. So, I should sleep. But I think I�m getting sick. My neck is really sore and I can�t seem to stay in bed. It�s so hot-- and I�m still not used to all the noise of the city.

Today I saw a Japanese girl with deadlocks. And that was about enough to make me want to go back to Ohio. Still, I made a few friends today. And some people seemed to like a few of my new poems. I�ve been trying a new style. Here, I�ll show you:

I am tha god a speed

look at me, Grand Central!
You all look up, but I'm still here
old mercury with wings on my head and feet
tha god a speed
boy am I fast

noon comes, and you go to lunch
a bon pain, what a pain!
I don't eat, I'm made a stone
and I am fast
Tha god a speed!

It's six o clock and ya'll go home
hurry hurry, you'll miss the news
but up here. I'm the news! See?
and I don�t go home, I just go fast
tha god a speed.

When night comes, I'm still here!
crumbling ol mercury: god a speed
winning a race. posin� for a photo
way up high-

above all you damn people
and your goddamed slow trains.

010813_25.html - 2000-08-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk