futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

katz


We ended up at katz diner in the lower east side. They give you a big yellow ticket there and when you get you food the guy writes the price on it. The prices weren�t bad either. ($0.90 for tea, I think) it was a nice place to talk and fill with people even though it was past 1:00am by the time we got there.

Well, it�s hard. After weeks alone in the tiny cell of a room listening to the city howl all around me; after weeks of dealing with either people who don�t know me at all. (okay there�s my brother ... but still) after all these weeks it�s hard to for just one evening remember how nice it is to have the company of a real friend. Hillary came to town (to do research I think, at the MET) and we went off to see a play, then to a kind of rock and roll bar, then to Katz Diner where we talked for a bit. I can only hope that she had a good time. I�m not the best host for this city, I still don�t know it very well.

Hillary's in her last year at university and so she�s �trying to decide what to do with her life� I remember that. She might go to India-- I think that would be amazing. But, there�s part of me that wishes she�d move to NY. The selfish part. I wish I knew more people here.

I woke up this morning and was so sad and disappointed to know that things had gone back to the way they were so quickly. Back to worrying about paying bills and moving. Back to going to the library and reading myself into a hole so I don�t think about not being so lonely.

How do people do it? How do they make friends? I know I must have done that once-- I have a few friends dusted across the globe. But how do you make new ones? I don�t know.

On a brighter note, I found out that Oliver Sacks is still doing lectures, in fact there is one in October at the 92nd street Y, so I order my ticket. Can�t wait. I�ll have to decide which books I want him to sign, well if he decides to sign books. I hope he does.

11:00 a.m. - 2001-08-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk