futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oh thank god the tourists are back

As I walked heavy-footed out of the subway today, late for work, squinting in the glare of shop windows and the sun shining off of the pinnacle of the Chrysler building, I caught sight of some tourists craning their heads up to take photos, and tapping each other on the arm the way that tourists do when they want to say �oh my look at that!� even though they know very well their friend is already looking at the same thing they are.

But-- I didn�t feel any irritation. Even though they were blocking the sidewalk. No, I was happy, almost moved to tears, to see them. So happy I spoke to them (they were British) and went as far as to say �everyone is so glad you�re here�

Someone took down those missing posters in Grand Central. It was getting to hard I think-- looking at them, knowing that none of those people can be missing.

But, the tourists came back today.

So-- we�re moving on.

1:43 a.m. - 2001-10-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk