futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

getting back to normal

It�s quiet in Harlem. I live on a quiet street. Dutch houses with scroll work painted black or white. Red brick and trees every few feet sprouting from the side walk. I can hear the sounds on Frederick Douglas Boulevard where the deli and the laundrymat never close.

The police blockade on 135th street is gone. Things feel more normal.

I�m almost unwilling to admit how shook up I was by the recent events. But, I have been shook. Right to the core. I�m questioning everything. I read all the papers. I bought 4 newspapers today and read them all. I get books from the library about the history of Islam, and Afghanistan, and the CIA and anything else I can think of. It�s like I�m hunting for some kind of answer.

Washington was surreal. It wasn�t just a peace rally or a protest: it was memorial service. I must admit I went there looking for answers too. Nothing... just more questions.

It was good to know that people can still hold a protest. Though, so far the US hasn�t done anything that I think is wrong. Not in reference to these attacks. I hope it can continue this way. Cautiously, intelligently. Heck maybe we�ll make a few allies out of this mess. Maybe we�ll realise that foreign policy can come home to roost and so become less caviller in our support or sanction of countries.

But, even if that happens the price was way too high.

I went to new dramatists today to listened to some playwrights talk about their work. And I realised that I haven't touched my plays for nearly a month.

In brighter news, I got membership to a gym this weekend. Keeping my health up with just running and push-ups was getting a bit tedious. I met a nice guy at the gym too. He works there, and we talked about the good places to shop around 125th st.

I�m going to see The Waterboys this weekend. One of my favourite bands. I�m looking forward to that.

Oh-- and I�ll have a roommate for the next moth--- one of the young playwrights from YPI. She�s won the contest and staying for a month to have her play produced. I remember my days with YPI. When they sent out the word they needed rooms I was excited to help. That should be fun. As long as she doesn't dominate my computer.

I�ll need to stop lying around the apartment half naked, though. Well, that was a bad habit anyway...

I can see the moon from my window. I like the moon, it follows me wherever I go.

11:21 p.m. - 2001-10-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk