futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the spinster

Yesterday I saw a parrot on the subway. It was rainbow coloured bird with a long tail that almost whisked the floor. It had two bright black dots for eyes. It�s camouflage plumage was designed for flowered forests not subways. Now and then he would beat his clipped wings to get the attention of his owner.

Closer to me kneeling on a bright orange subway seat a girl of 4 or so with twin pigtails read the names of the subway stops in trains from the big map. I always imagined that new york children grew up counting �one, two, three, lex, park, madison, fifth, malcom X, clayton powl, freddie douglas...� now I had proof.

It was a bright ominous day. I was on the F train riding back from the brooklyn half marathon. my legs were talking to me. They were not saying nice things. I sipped my water and wondered what I had to be sad about. I was sad. (I am sad) But here before the whole earth seemed to be waking up. Offering the best things it could to me: sunlight, bright children and birds of paradise.

Where, o lovely world, is the friend I had dreamed I would have made by now?

I�m a spinster. I married a dead dream.

9:20 a.m. - 2002-03-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk