futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

drip drip drip


I Took this photo of the 7 train two days ago. This is a train that I missed, it was pulling away just as I got down the stairs.

Last night I realised that I was out of cigarettes so I pondered buying some for an hour or so, then at last decided that I could get some, but I would have to pay for them in Pennines. This meant that I�d need to count and roll all of the change in the small soup can on the window sill. (FYI a small soup can holds 487 pennies)

I was astounded how little money the pennies added up to. I thought about a day when I�d tell little kids (notice I don�t say �my grand kids� I will never have children, I like children too much to inflict this world upon them.) what a penny was and how they were worth almost nothing.

I handed in my rent early this month hoping that it would inspire my landlord to fix the leak... but it drips on... I may even miss it if it ever is fixed, like the poor sobs who beg that they not discontinue pennies-- and the people who fear coin dollars or that great day when cash will end altogether.. I will miss the drip.

Like most creatures that live we become accustomed to pain and annoyance, then in our confusion we go so far as to claim that that we like it. That�s what keeps the whole charade going.

There should be a national holiday, I think, devoted to people admitting how much they really do hate their lives. That might help wake people up.

7:55 a.m. - 2002-03-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk