futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

skates


My new �Riedell� skates with rubber wheels, leather uppers, steel plates and extra smooth ball-bearings.... though now, after my journey home, I may need to buy some white shoe polish and fresh stoppers...

I had hauled my brand new roller skates all the way to work with me this morning (I strapped them to my bag since they would not fit inside with the knee pads and wrist guards in there. I got a few strange looks from people on the subway, but I paid them no mind. Have these people not heard of FUN?!?) As soon as work was over I sat on Lexington lacing up my skates. My plan was to go east then skate up along the river to Harlem. That was a mistake.

While the west side has a marvellous long bike and skate trail there is no such trail on the east side. I was trapped in this little truncated park with the freeway roaring behind me. It was a lovely little park and I could see the east river, but there was no trail. So, I took off my skates and hiked up and grabbed a cross-town bus.

Soon I arrived at the big Hudson river and there I found a skating trail with street markings just like the freeway. It was a freeway for skaters and bikers and runners: What could be better! I skated over the smooth flawless black top uninterrupted by cross streets until I came to a point around 85th street where the paving was not so smooth. But, I was so close to my goal that I just dug in and tried harder. I had to climb over some grass and I got a bit lost when I came suddenly to a dirt path, but I found my way back to the asphalt and was rolling again in no time.

Then just when I reached 125th st the pavement was nice and smooth again! I practised my figure 8s and turns and, at last seeing that dusk was falling got out of the skates and climbed up the stairs and found myself at Columbia University. I had been wondering why I�d never found that place before, I knew it was off to the west of me somewhere. So I walked across campus and thought about how nice it was to have classes and homework, well not really. Still, maybe I should think about grad school...

But then I came to �morning side drive� and there was this cliff I could see all of Harlem down there and then I understood why I never happened to wander on to Columbia campus before. It�s up on a hill! A mountain almost ...

I hurried through the park then off to my gym. On my way there, I noticed that the Apollo theatre is missing its marquee. That was kind of alarming! But I think that they are restoring it. I can�t wait to see how it looks when they bring it back. I hope they don�t replace it. I love that marquee. But, it could use a good once-over with some polish and some fresh neon. I hope that�s what they are up to.

After cooling down from my skating at the gym I found I was smiling. I can�t wait to go skating again. It feels great to have something to look forward to.

What will I do next... ? I think I�ll buy a kite.

020427_86.html - 2002-04-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk