futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my own race


I got some new running shoes. They have nice firm heels, this ought to help my knees and ankles a bit, for now I'm sporting tape for good measure.

I blew it. Yesterday I slept in and missed my 5K race. I should have known better. I was up till 11:30 on friday night, and normally this would not be a problem, but unlike most of the races I run this one was in queens NOT central park and it started at 8:00am. Furthermore, the bus left from NYCRR�s at 5:30am meaning that to get there from Harlem I needed to be up by 4:30am Ha ha. Forget it. I woke up a 6:30, the bus was gone and I found the notion of doing the subway to queens all on my own too intimidating.

I went back to sleep.

Then I woke up two hours later and I was all upset about missing the race! The birds were chirping and sunlight was all over my room. I decided I�d run my own race, 6 yummy miles around central park then back to the gym for some much past-due speed work.

I felt much better after that. So much so that I decided to go to �The Sugar Shack� up the street to see if there was a poetry slam. There was no poetry slam but there was a fascinating old man talking and ranting about politics and religion. So we argued till 1:00am and everyone was just rolling their eyes at us. I don�t know why. I think they were jealous, we were really talking about something. Everyone else was just murmuring about clothes, music or their love life. I only have interest in one of those three things. And no one has heard of any of the music I like anyway-- so what�s the point in talking about that!?

I feel so happy this morning. Why don�t I know more people who like to talk big? Who try to understand the way of the world? Who build mountains in the sky? What else can talking do for us?

020414_67.html - 2002-04-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk