futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lost

I like being lost. I like to get on a bus that I�ve never seen before and see where I end up. When I was in London last summer I�d get on a train and ride it off in to the night to see where it went. I was making good money then and very bored most of the time. But, at least when I was moving I would not need to worry about anything.

One time I took a train (the Uxbridge line I think) north until I came to a stop called Ruslip. I hopped out to have a look around.

It was a dark summer night, like the nights in Shaker where I grew up. The houses had small lawns and there were trees along the street side. It reminded me of home. It reminded me of walking with the one or two friends I had in highschool on summer nights after having seen a movie at the Colony theatre (before it was a multi-plex) to the playground by the grade school�We�d sit on the tire swings and talk.

But, I was very far from home and suddenly I remembered that in London the underground closes at 1:00pm (or was it 2:00pm) at any rate I had to get back to the station and find a train. I hurried back to the station. I was sorry to leave that little neighborhood�and not very excited about getting back to the house I was staying at� (my commute involved three underground lines, a rail road train, a bus and a good bit of walking.)

On my way back to the station I saw three young people�maybe in their late teens stumbling out of the station, laughing, possibly a little drunk� I listened to their foot steps and laughter as they disappeared in to the quiet little neighborhood. Then I realized that if they were exiting the station that must mean the train was standing there and so I broke in to a run.

I caught the train OK.

020521_99.html - 2002-05-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk