futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

coup de�maturity

coup de�maturity

Nothing stays in place
in the cool, sandy spot
near the peeling porch.
There, I lost my marbles.

Sand and glass in my nails,
mouth tastes like gritty tears.
I move aside the earthworms;
digging up clay chunks.

Once, long, long ago--
the street lamps would wink at me,
the bicycle sang of my graces,
the sidewalk clip-clopped "hello!"
Even all alone, I was Perfectly Visible.

As a fresh-eyed child
in pink Allstars, I was king.
I claimed everything I saw;
I was seen by every object.

But, nothing is immune to movement:
walking past hopscotchers I cringed,
afraid of the superball

it might shatter me--
(and the children laughed at me.)

Where is my paper crown?
WHO TOOK MY GOLDEN CAT�S EYE!????
What scoundrel wrought
the coup of maturity?

Give 'em back to me.

020628_87.html - 2002-06-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk