futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

can�t put a dream in a box

I unplugged the refrigerator. The noise it made was driving me nuts. It was empty and a waste of energy, anyway. Without the humming my apartment is a much nicer place�I can hear the sunlight.

I shop on ebay now and then. I don�t buy much (got no cash, see?) Two weeks ago I found a pair of jadeite green cups. (I didn�t know what �jadeite� was, but it�s from the 40s and 50s and sort of popular now I think due to Martha Stuart, That�s almost enough to make me hate the stuff!) The cups were powder green, milky glass; the light seemed to hover in them. They reminded me of something�the kind of memory that makes you aches with sadness but you go on thinking of it anyway. I couldn�t name it�but I was enamoured. They were on sale for $1. �Old cups?� I thought �why not, they�re cheap.� But, I had no idea that these cups would go so high� ---but I�m getting ahead of myself.

When I was in university I would sit in the social sciences student lounge (they had these miserable boxish chairs stained with coffee and an old humming soda machine) I would go there and draw in a little book I had. For a few weeks I was obsessed with the image of two coffee cups (or teacups) filled with coffee and steaming. That was all I drew. It was a symbol of happiness for me. I could look at the drawings and remember what it was like to have two cups with handles in opposition, brim to brim on the table in front of me�and across from me, another person.

Years have past but I�m still obsessed with that image.

So I had to have these cups on ebay. They went up to $17 very quickly, and I almost gave up on them but then I could not stand it, they were just like the drawing. $23.00 plus shipping.

I was so happy to win them. I paid right away. I waited.

They came today, broken.

They were insured, but I don�t want cups. I don�t need two anyway. Don�t know what I was thinking. You can�t put a dream in a box.

020624_2.html - 2002-06-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk