futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pink cymbidiums



I met up with some orchid people today. These are pink cymbidiums. For thousands of years men and women have looked at them and written about them and dreamed about them.

Why? What is it about this flower that is so overpowering? When I look at it I feel connected with other parts of human history. I want to paint them in watercolor, or to write a poem that would capture their shape.

Maybe it is just the fact that flowers wilt. All of them do, over time. And seeing one at its height makes me wish time could stop�so I could say to every person. Look at this. This is beauty. Not oppressive or frightening, not haughtily or rich�but simply here with us. And living and dying.

8:58 p.m. - 2003-08-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk