futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All he had seen was ashes

Hamm tells this story in endgame that moves me every time:

HAMM: I once knew a madman who thought the end of the world had come. He was a painter---and engraver. I had a great fondness for him. I used to go and see him, in the asylum. I'd take him by the hand and drag him to the window. Look! There! All that rising corn! And there! Look! The sails of the herring fleet! All that loveliness!

(Pause.)

He'd snatch away his hand and go back into his corner. Appalled. All he had seen was ashes.

Is there something that I'm missing? I tend to be one of those who think that madmen see the truth. But, maybe, there is something to be said for ordinary life. I wonder if it could be said that most of my fellow americans are optimists, or do they just act that way? or is it that if you act that way you become that way? Who knows!

001109_11.html - 2000-11-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk