futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

universe symphony


The window ledge at the top of the stairs in CFA where I worked last year on many video projects with nick.

There are strange,loud, noises outside my window. I suppose it�s just construction workers working but I like to think they're working on the fabric of time itself.

There is banging and pounding and a sound like a jack hammer. In the distance, as always, there is the wail of the freight trains. Every now and then something hard strikes a hollow metal pole and rings like a sour church bell.

If there had been a God I wonder what those first moments of the His world sounded like? It�s more exciting to imagine the sounds and sensations of the Christian history of the universe. Since the size of the world was born in the human imagination at a rime when little of geography and space was known it seems more likely that the events of that history would be dynamic on a humanly perceivable scale.

But, when I think of the story found by modern science I know that the sounds and sights and smells are beyond my comprehension, too extreme for my soft sensitive organ. Perhaps this is why Charles Ive�s Universe Symphony is so successful. It tells the story that way we�d like to imagine it.

Verisimilitude is frequently incomprehensible.

Today I have a simple goal in life. Go to the grocery store and buy some food.

And here is today's amusement.

001109_66.html - 2000-11-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk