futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

seen at night

One night I saw a very strange thing: A musical instrument was destroyed before my eyes, for no reason by a group of strange men in the dead of night.

This is how it happened:
Last spring I was out running one night. It was much too late for it to be safe but I went out anyway. There were no cars on fifth avenue. During the day you can hardly cross fifth outside of the Fairfax, but that night I stood in the street without looking for cars but instead at the church with two towers. Nights in Pittsburgh are very gothic.

I decided not to run in the woods that night but instead to run down to the point where the rivers meet. I took off sprinting under the pass that separates the good part of Oakland from the bad.

The bad part of Oakland used to be called the hill district. Once it was a happening black neighbourhood. Now it looks like Germany after the war: every other house is empty, buildings stand burnt and unattended,. the few people you see are frightened and thin: people at the end of their ropes searching for a last something.

I came to the top of a street that disappeared into dark-green kudsu vines. I could hear voices behind the vines so I looked through.

In the light of a street lamp where four poor back men and a young richly clothed white man hauling a grand piano off of a truck. They were solemn as they did this, like pallbearers. I wondered what had prompted them to be out at this hour. It had to be 2:00a. I watched in either horror or wonder as they pushed the piano to the edge of the cliff that overlooked the river and then tipped it over. There were melodic crashes and and vibrating sounds as the piano tumbled and broke in its fall.

I decided not to be seen. They got in the truck and drove away. To this day I don�t know what there were doing.

22:22:07 - 2000-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk