futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

notary public


Walking in a small town in winter.

Off to the notary this morning. My mother lost a box that contained a bunch of federal savings bonds in my name. I didn1t even know they existed. I do remember winning a bond for writing a play some years ago. The first money I made from art. Things are getting thin. Might be time to spend it soon.

It1s good being in a small town. I feel freed from perfection. While I was sitting in the notary's office I looked out the window at the post office. A truck passes and it1s quiet. The Notary is an old woman with a dry mouth eating crackers. She takes a bite of a crackers and half of it falls out of her mouth as crumbs. But I'm not listening to her or my mother. I let my eyes rest on everything in the room: an outdated sealing stamp, a plastic fern, the wood panning, a painting of a pine tree barley visible through a stow storm, the old sturdy aluminum office chairs and the spot on the arm where the vinyl has worn thin exposing the foam dry and dusty as sand.

17:26:55 - 2000-11-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk