futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

without so much as a can of soup

I tried to go to the grocery store, remembering that it closed at 11p only at 10:35 or so. So, I ran out of my apartment got my coat and scarf on and went to the mail room to pull the circulars out of the newspapers no one had claimed. It was a nice night, not really cold and it didn�t bother my fingers too much as I flipped through the glossies looking for some coupons on my way there. As always there was nothing I could use. The coupons were for things I don�t, and in fact no one probably needs. Things like a �vegetable scrubbing set� or little cat-shaped dog biscuits. The last days of rome I tell you!

I got to Center Ave. and nothings on but the neon. Purple for pagers, red for the druggist and orange for liquor(the liquor store was closed, naturally, this being a Sunday, with god watching us and all. Sunday, hmmmm.) So I walk through the parking lot and up to the door of Giant Eagle and a red faced security guard with a beard waves me away �Closed at 10 on Sunday!� Right Sunday.

Awww . . . Fuck! What luck. I toss out the useless coupons and make my way back home. And as I�m on my way I can�t help but notice that there are all of these couples out-- but not just ordinary couples, perfectly match pairs of people. It was like noah was gathering them together for a few months at sea (or was it weeks?)

They were all so cute in pairs walking close for the cold as if each set of two was the last on the earth. A round faced boy and girl in matching hats stepped into the uni-mart, a boy and girl both with dark hair in leather jackets played on the steps of the mellon institute. I wondered where mine was.

Why tonight? I thought. It�s just a Sunday-- but then it hit me. Winter break begins for many this week. People will vacate the city. Lovers will part. These weeks where all we have is finals are a perfect time to drink up the hours with a love you might have found --found, oh in October at a Halloween party, or in September on the lawn when people still read outside.

Loneliness is so ugly. When the break comes and the planes start taking off, I�m not going to be loosing anyone.

And I came home without so much as a can of soup too.

At least I know some of the people are happy tonight.

03:50:13 - 2000-12-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk