futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



2000
the New York on New Year's of my dreams

I don�t want to be there, I�d rather watch it. I want to watch New York City on television. I want it to be heightened and perfect. Television is always perfect. No fist fights or beer vomit, just young, exuberant, confetti-freckled faces eagerly looking up into the illuminated, dancing, jewel box: times square.

I think the images of New York buzzing with light on firstnight is what has made obsessed with cities. All those thousands of people huddled together, glowing with wine and laughter, and the whole city trembling with neon flashes and camera lenses.

But, I�m not going to watch New York tonight.

I�m going to downtown Pittsburgh see Nick�s video installation and the fireworks. It�s going to be a 60 foot screen. It�s about people who work on new years eve. Nick is always trying to get people to think about the things they don�t think about. Not everyone is able to go out tonight. I don�t think that�s the greatest tragedy in the world, but it�s important to think about things like that. Live outside of yourself for a moment or two.

The cities inside of me: the New York on new years of my dreams, it isn�t even real. Tonight I�ll see what is.

23:20:20 - 2000-12-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk