futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

soon the Christmas tress will be out on the lawns

�It�s the day after 12th Night (which I guess would make it 5th Day, but I don�t think that�s a well known phrase), and all over the world, coloured lights and trees and tinsel are being taken down and packed away for another 11 months or so, until the next time people are ready to let colour back into their lives.�
from grim.diaryland.com

Makes me almost want to care about Christmas. The trouble is the people in this town don�t bother to take the decorations down. Ever. The Christmas tinsel will linger into late January collecting a pollution-singed dinginess that will make this long desperate sprint to springtime seem all the more agonising.

And soon the Christmas tress will be out on the lawns. Baptists don�t do Christmas tress so I never had one when I was young. That was one thing I liked about being Baptist. I learned to abhor excess. Even though I was never able to �find god� (I�m and atheist) I admire the preacher for having the courage to denounce the commercial secularised capitalistic aspects of Christmas: the shopping, the tress, the parties, the movies and Santa clause.

I forget that christmas tress even exist most of the time. The only thing that makes me think of those pagan gift bushes is seeing them on television or when people toss them out, still plastered with the plastic decorations that were too much trouble to keep. One in each drive way, collecting snow and road dirt, rotting with the the sickening stench of pine. It all seems so pointless. Why kill a tree just so your brats can dance around it? Then throw it away? I hate this country. I hate not being able to understand it.



16:26:26 - 2001-01-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk