futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Will they lie to us?

Playwrights are dangerous. Well, their words can be. Every plays has an underlaying philosophy. It�s embedded in the dialog and action. You can�t direct it, or act out. For me, a play either reunderscores the current social order or it calls for change. The dangerous playwrights are the ones who fail to call for change. If we think that we can go on like this: that human nature is acceptable and even good then we�re all in trouble. Most people are selfish. Most people would hurt others just for a moments happiness. Don�t tell me you are any different. You�re lying.

So, I have trouble accepting the scripts that cause us to see a glimmer of hope in the human spirit. Show us our cruel and selfish grim selves on the stage and we might be spurned towards change!

I�m thinking on this since we are working with the grad playwrights and their new plays. I have to think of three that peek my interest. I discovered that the subject matter did not concern me at all. Only the manner of the playwright. Will they lie to us? I kept thinking. Will they try to glorify the human spirit and stroke our egos with characters that are inhumanly heroic? Or are they like me? In a constant state of shock and self hated as, moment to moment, we see how truly awful people are?

15:24:12 - 2001-01-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk