futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I always thought they were random and had nothing to do with me.

Apparently if you let a rat run through a maze, record the brain waves of the rat as it runs then compare that recording to the brain waves of the sleeping rat they are very similar. I need to find the article that explains this-- ahh I won�t bother even if it isn�t true it still scared me. You see the newest theory on dreams is that they are the way we process our short term memories.

This is disturbing to me because almost all my dreams are strange nightmares. Those are the ones I remember, there probably many more. Could this mean there is something in my days that is nightmarish that only comes out as my brain reviews the day? I don�t like to think about my dreams. It fills me with a sense of panic. My mind at night is like a big flat rock-- and when you lift it up you discover an ant colony and all kinds of grubs and worms and rot and spiders and the little beetles eating bigger beetles and leaving them hollow beetle-shells. I�d rather leave that rock in place, thank you.

To think all that mayhem comes out of my days! My days are so perfectly peaceful. I get to work on my writing and study art and be around a group of (mostly) good people. What in my life could cause nightmares? I always thought the nightmares came from some old, stupid, lizard-remnant of my brain. I always thought they were random and had nothing to do with me.

Okay now I�ve creeped myself out. I�m going running. Fucking self-induced anxiety. The best thing is hard exercise and then sleep. Better make that dreamless sleep.

00:16:53 - 2001-01-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk