futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

handmaids and footmen

Another long day. Since I still have no phone line I�m at the net caf� (again�) Outside I can hear this guy jack-hammering away. I think I can see how people get sick of New York. But Central Park keeps me sane!



I went for a long run today through trees and over big rocks! --then I hogged the tire swing near 95th east... until this little kid made me get off. He said I was "too old" to be up on a swing like that. (lil' bastard�)

At any rate I like my job a lot, and I even had some free time last night to buy some server space with DBWired where I can do fun this with Perl and MySQL. For example, I�ve always wanted to make a kind of 3D map thing that would let you �record� moments in time on a map then display them as slices� (hard to explain) now I�m going to get to do it.

Everyone says that New Yorkers are mean�this is not at all true. People here are nicer than any other place I�ve been. Now people on London are mean. They ask you for 10p if you want the time. So many people have gone out of their way to help me. This guy saw me carrying a big heavy box today (I had to change rooms at the Y) and he carried it for me up three flights and he wasn�t even flirting (I think �)

The only thing I can�t get used to is all the rich little kids on the upper east side with Black or Hispanic nannies. I don�t know, I guess it works but it makes me sort of un comfortable, so do all the adds for �live in help� is so weird to realize that some people still have servants�well not really servants, but you know what I mean. Who makes enough money to support another human being just to clean up after them? But I guess they have everything here.

But most of the people are very nice� I even have a date this Friday. I met some guy on a cross-town bus. He�s in software, I think we�ll see The Lion King, yeah very touristy�but I�m still new here so give me a break!

I�m sort of lonely though� I don�t want to pester my brother too much so I try not to stop by every day. But, I�d like to have someone to talk to besides the people at work.

You can send me a post card if this little confession means anything to you.

Susan Murray
Box number F37
The 92nd St. Y
1395 Lexington
New York, NY
100128

11:00 p.m. - 2001-06-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk