futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

O Roosevelt Island!

Just a moment ago a buzzer goes off in my building. A fire? People come out into the halls and ask each other what to do. �I guess we better go.� I say and so we all tramp down the stairs joined at each flight by other sleepy people ... untill we spill out on to the street, some in robes, others in night gowns. A few of us go out into the street where the fire truck is flashing and look up at the building for flames, smoke, anything? ... nothing. A false alarm.

But, at least I got to see who else lives here. The people on the sidewalk looked like a united nations convention. A girl had a digital camera and took photos. Perhaps she�ll email one to me. I left my camera in my room.

I discovered the east river park today. I kept looking out at Roosevelt island and wishing I could live there. But I�ll be lucky if I can find a place to live anywhere. My brother suggested reading the obituaries to find out where vacant apartments might be. I can�t do that! That�s so ... mean or immoral or morbid or something.

Still, out on Roosevelt island perhaps today someone died ...

hmmm ... it�s way too tempting.

10:59 p.m. - 1979-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk