futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the hard working single woman


the east river at night

Yes. I got the job. I knew I�d get it. Well, I was mostly certain. (okay I was nervous) The job provides health care and a wonderful working environment. (A theatre environment no less!) And it lets me do my contract work too. So, I have two jobs. Check out the hard working single woman!

I remember my mother telling me something when she was here this weekend. �I could have never done this.� She said. She was talking about how, when she was my age, it was still a big deal for a girl to live on her own. I forget that. In fact, until she told me that I always imagined her having her own apartment someplace then meeting dad and thinking �hmmm does he even make as much as me? Well, he�s handsome so I�ll forgive him...� But, no, my mom lived with her parents all through grad school. There was no money for her to get her own place-- and after university she got married.

Marriage seems like the most distant thing in the world to me. It seems like only aliens must do it. But, then two years ago I felt that way about worrying about health care. Now I worry. I need to see a dentist badly, I know I have a cavity and if I don�t have some kind of health care I won�t be able to get it fixed soon enough. I love being employed.

Tomorrow I open my New York bank account with my New York pay check. (from my contract work) Am I a New Yorker yet?

12:01 a.m. - 2001-07-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk