futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Will she ever catch on? (poetry)

I am spending this weekend alone. I�m so happy to be, at last, alone, without anyone asking me for anything. I don�t quite know what to do with my time, but, at least, it�s mine. I have a race next week, The Lucky 7 Mile Reversible. So, I�d like to go to the gym today and do some weights-- I need to think about my training plan for this week. I�d like to get a good time (my time in the Frostbite 10 Mile Race last week was AWFUL)

M, from work, invited me over for dinner this weekend, but I don�t think I want to go. I�m digging being alone far too much right now.

Oh, and I�m writing again. Here is my newest poem:


Will she ever catch on? (no)

It takes about ten years to catch on,
then the girl sees that each season
can do no better than come again:
to the same window, the same tree.
The sound of leaves, rustling
with the passing of cars,
marks another fall. It�s the same.

With a voice like a young god then she said:
�NOW it is the time to be born again.
Dig two hands into my thigh
and part the flesh open!
Come out of this rubber suit;
step out of my old thick skin,
hardened and simplified,
at last naked.�

Oh, it takes another 10 years to sink in.
Even the best new flesh grows old,
grows thicker-- not by inches
but imagined fathoms, (oh moby dick)
It�s a new city, a new tree, same damn girl
and same sound of tumbling leaves
suddenly, again, it�s time to be born
...again

With a voice like a eagle's scream then she said:
�Now is the time to get it right!
this time everything goes:
even the kitchen sink!
(even the kitchen)
I will step out of the old husk
like a fawn from the placenta,
with wobbly legs,
-oh, but the promise of power.�

but in 10 years time
how will she dig deeper
for the last Russian doll?
The ultimate inner core
the pure essence
the laughing, old, bones.

They have been there all along.

�Oh really now!?�

Click your heels three times.

�There�s no escaping the home,
There�s no escaping the home,
There�s no escaping the home!�

[sound of tornado]

10:33 a.m. - 2002-01-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk