futurebird's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

made for the motion of running

In the lead the fastest of the pack charge past us. Their feet touch the ground only once for each yard or mile. Their long legs span the course in a few quick steps. Their heads are high and they look straight ahead. They are made for the motion of running. And we all cheer as they pass, we can't help it, the cheer comes from deep in my breast-- (and I cheer even though I know I'll need the energy later) the few, the leaders. Every runner is a pack leader in his runner fantasies. Seeing the living breathing leaders is to see a dream made flesh.

Today I ran in the lucky 7 mile reversible in central park. In this race the course folds back on itself so you get to see the fastest runners as you charge up the first half mile. Just seeing them was inspiring to me. I don�t think I�ll ever be in the lead-- but, maybe I could be in the top 1/3 someday? I�m still in the bottom third. I�m such a wannabe. But, I improved my time per mile by a whole min., and when the race was over I still had lots of energy left. I think I could have pushed more. Next time I will.

And I think I�m almost ready to quit smoking.... maybe.

10:14 p.m. - 2002-01-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

visiblebones
rexicrain
shadow-s
nolegirl22
diseasedb
angel-obrien
unquiet-mind
whisperthin
silver80
daphne-minor
midnytemyst
diseasedb
secretchild
xemowhorex
hungry-hippo
midnytemyst
second-best0
anaworld
blue82
kingsbaby04
jewelsjamie
sharpsecret
slowlyinsane
zettes
vampodrama
whale-girl
gmk